Governing Body 2016/2017 

The Governors of Cradoc School represent the parents, the community of the area, the Local Authority and the school staff.

We are a body of people totally committed to supporting the Headteacher and staff, ensuring that the education of all the children reaches a high standard and that every child is enabled to fulfill his or her potential. We support school activities and monitor the achievements of the children in all aspects of school life. We are legally responsible for running the school and ensuring it meets all of it’s responsibilities.  We are a critical or questioning friend to the staff, ensuring the staff are challenged but supported.

We do our best to ensure that the seven years that most of our children spend at Cradoc  School are happy and successful ones and that they go on to the next stage of their education with confidence and happy memories of the time they have spent here.

If you wish to talk to any of us at any time, there will always be someone prepared to listen and to advise how best to progress any ideas or solve any problems you may have. The Clerk to the Governors is Miss Liz Davies and if you wish to contact any of the Governors she will happily arrange this – please contact her at the school office.

Parent Governors:


Mrs Emma Prosser (Vice-Chair). Emma is Vice-Chair of Governors and has responsibility for governor induction, school attendance and sits on the staffing, finance and marketing committee.  Emma is also link Governor for School Development Priority 2 : Digital Competence.  Emma has two children at Cradoc, currently in Y6 and Y3 and a daughter who has recently moved to High School.


Mrs Catherine Wilson. Catherine has responsibility for 3@Cradoc.  She is link Governor for School Development Priority 3 : Curriculum and Assessment Development.  Cath’s youngest daughter has just moved on to High School to follow her other 3 siblings who previously came to Cradoc.


Dr Julia Bignall. Julia is Deputy Safeguarding Governor and sits on the Premises, Health and Safety committee.  She is link Governor for School Development Priority 4 : Wellbeing.  Julia has one daughter in school, currently in Y6 and one who has recently moved to high school.

Rhian Dillon

Mrs Rhian Dillon.  Rhian is our Rights Respecting School Governor. She has one son in Reception.

Local Authority Governors:


Mrs Gillian Thomas (Chair of Governors). Gillian is Councillor for Ysgir Electoral Division.  She is Chair of Governors, Safeguarding Governor, Equalities Governor and sits on Staffing, Finance and Marketing committee and Performance Management committee.  She is link Governor for School Development Priority 6 : Distributed Leadership.


Mr Ade Cavenagh.  Ade is Health and Safety Governor, sitting on the Premises, Health and Safety Committee.  He is also Chair of the Friends of Cradoc and is link Governor for School Development Priority 5 : Parental Engagement.  Ade has two daughters at Cradoc, currently in Y3 and Year 1.

Rebecca Owen

Mrs Rebecca Watkins.  Bexs has recently been appointed.  She has yet to be assigned roles.  Bexs has one son in school, currently in Year 1.

Minor Authority Governor:


Mr Malcolm Roberts.  Malcolm is Chair of the Premises and Health and Safety Committee.  He is passionate about improving the parking at Cradoc – something that should occur by the end of this year!

Community Governors:


Mrs Sue Goodhead.  Sue has been visiting our school as a volunteer for several years now.  She has a background in education and is the ALN and MAT Link Governor and  is link Governor for School Development Priority 1 : Developing Further Challenge for nearly More Able Pupils.


Mrs Tina Millard. Tina has a background in finance and Chairs the Finance, Staffing and Marketing sub-committee.  She has two children in Cradoc, in Year 1 and Year 3.



Mrs Katy Cherrington.  Katy is our School of Sanctuary Governor.  She has one daughter in Year 4 and a son in high school who previously attended Cradoc.  Katy is  also secretary of the PTA.

Staff Governors:Beth_Roberts

Miss Beth Roberts.  Beth is Deputy Headteacher and ALN Co-ordinator.  She is the teacher Governor.



Mrs Annette Morris.  Annette is a Higher Level Teaching Assistant at Cradoc.  She is the non-teaching governor on behalf of the staff, other than teachers.


Mrs Judith Morris (Headteacher). Judith is Headteacher at Cradoc and sits on almost all of the sub-committees.



Miss Liz Davies.  Liz is Clerk to the Governors.  She also works in school as School Administrator